# PRESS RELEASE



#### **CONTACT:**

## Kathryn Culbertson

Einstein Fellowship Program Manager

Phone: (703) 516-5963 Fax: (703) 516-5969

einsteinfellows@triangle-coalition.org

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

### 2012-13 ALBERT EINSTEIN DISTINGUISHED EDUCATOR FELLOWSHIPS ANNOUNCED

**WASHINGTON, D.C., APRIL 16, 2012 –** Nineteen new Fellows have been selected to serve in four sponsoring agencies for the 2012-13 school year (from September 1, 2012 - July 31, 2013.. The prestigious Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship Program offers K-12 science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) teachers with a demonstrated excellence in teaching an opportunity to serve in the national education public policy arenas. Fellows were selected from a nationwide pool of over 200 applicants.

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship Program was authorized by an act of Congress in 1994. The program is administered by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) in partnership with the Triangle Coalition for Science and Technology Education and participating host agencies.. Selected teachers spend a school year in the Washington, DC metro area serving in a Federal agency or a Congressional Office. Fellows provide practical insight and a classroom perspective to policy makers and program managers developing or managing education programs. The Fellows help to increase understanding, communication, and cooperation between the STEM education community and legislative and executive branches of the Federal government. Einstein Fellows bring the extensive knowledge and experience of classroom teachers and provide practical insights and "real world" perspectives to policy makers and program managers developing or managing educational programs. The participating host agencies include DOE, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the National Science Foundation (NSF).

## Serving at the US Department of Energy (DOE)

Rebecca Hite, a high school science teacher from Chapel Hill, NC will serve as a Congressional Fellow sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Science under the guidance of Dr. Pat Dehmer.

Scott Kluever a middle school science teacher from Eagle River, AK will serve as a Congressional Fellow sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Science under the guidance of Dr. Pat Dehmer.

Denise Thompson, a high school science teacher from Puyallup, WA will serve as a Congressional Fellow sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Science under the guidance of Dr. Pat Dehmer.

Sharon Webb, a high school math and computer science teacher from Fairfax Station, VA will serve in the Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists with the Department of Energy's Office of Science under the guidance of Dr. Pat Dehmer.

Sam Wheeler, a high school science teacher from Raleigh, NC will serve in the Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists with the Department of Energy's Office of Science under the guidance of Dr. Pat Dehmer.

#### PRESS RELEASE

Triangle Coalition for Science and Technology Education 2012-13 Einstein Fellows Selected April 12, 2012 p. 2

## Serving at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Paulo Oemig, a middle school science teacher from Las Cruces, NM will serve in the Office of Education at the Goddard Space Flight Center and at NASA Headquarters with the Informal STEM Education Program under the guidance of Carmel Conaty and Mary Sladek, respectively.

### Serving at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Britta Culbertson, a high school science teacher from Seattle, WA will serve at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Office of Education under the guidance of Program Director Carrie McDougall.

## Serving at the National Science Foundation (NSF)

Steve Bartlett, a high school science teacher from Fairfax, VA will serve in the Directorate for Education and Human Resources, Division on Research and Learning in Formal and Informal Settings under the guidance of Janice Earle at the National Science Foundation.

Marcia Barton, a high school science teacher from Santa Fe, NM will serve in the Directorate for Geosciences (GEO) in the GEO Education and Diversity program under the guidance of Jill Karsten at the National Science Foundation.

Deborah Britt, a high school math teacher, from Mars Hill, NC will serve in the Computer Information Science & Engineering (CISE) Directorate with the CE-21 Program under the guidance of Jan Cuny at the National Science Foundation.

Chris Campbell, a middle school science teacher from Ruston, LA will serve in the Industrial and Innovative Partnership Division of the Engineering Directorate under the guidance of Cheryl Albus at the National Science Foundation.

Mila Lynne Floro, a high school science and technology teacher, from Holiday Island, AR, will serve in the Industrial and Innovative Partnership Division of the Engineering Directorate under the guidance of Cheryl Albus at the National Science Foundation.

Joe Isaac, a high school science teacher from Washington, DC will serve in the Biological Sciences Directorate, Molecular and Cellular Biology Division under the guidance of Parag Chitnis at the National Science Foundation.

Kathy Malone, a high school science teacher from Pittsburgh, PA will serve in the Directorate for Education and Human Resources, Division on Research and Learning with the Discovery Research K-12 program (DRK-12) under the guidance of Elizabeth VanderPutten at the National Science Foundation.

Lynn Foshee Reed, a high school math teacher from Richmond, VA will serve in the Office of Polar Programs under the guidance of Peter West at the National Science Foundation.

Steve Ruthford, a high school science teacher from Bellingham, WA will serve in the Directorate for Education and Human Resources, Division of Undergraduate Education, Math Science Partnerships/Robert Noyce Teaching Scholarship Program (MSP/NTSP) under the guidance of Dr. Joan Priva at the National Science Foundation I.

### PRESS RELEASE

Triangle Coalition for Science and Technology Education 2012-13 Einstein Fellows Selected April 12, 2012 p. 3

Kevin Tambara, a middle school science teacher from Torrance, CA will serve in the Computer Information Science & Engineering (CISE) Directorate with the Division of Computer and Network Systems under the guidance of Dr. Keith Marzullo at the National Science Foundation.

Sandra Trevino, a high school math teacher from Sierra Vista, AZ will serve Directorate for Education and Human Resources, Division on Research and Learning at the National Science Foundation with the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math & Science Teaching program (PAEMST) under the guidance of Nafeesa Owens at the National Science Foundation.

John Zacharias, a high school science, technology and math teacher from Melbourne, FL will serve in the Office of Cyberinfrastructure under the guidance of Mimi McClure at the National Science Foundation.

###

More information about the Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship Program, can be found at www.einsteinfellows.org